My TV and Me

October 25, 2011

Chatter: Fall TV So Far

Filed under: reviews — Tags: , , , , — gina64 @ 1:39 pm

I’m back from a weekend in New Hampshire, and ready to blog.

So did you see that fX has renewed Sons of Anarchy for a fifth season? It seems the ratings for this season (4) are better than they’ve ever been. And for good reason, I think. This season’s writing is much tighter and the drama onscreen has been riveting. I read somewhere that Kurt Sutter has the story planned out for 7 seasons and I see no reason why, at this point, we shouldn’t expect to see it last that long. The club is already falling apart, and I see Shakespearean levels of tragedy coming in the end. I can’t wait.

Person of Interest has turned out to be one of my favorite new shows. The procedural, stand-alone nature of the episodes satisfies my lazy brain, while the slowly unraveling of the back stories of both of the main characters leaves me coming back for more. I watch Michael Emerson for the acting and Jim Caveziel brings the pretty.

Are any of you still watching Terra Nova? I’m not. I lasted through the 2-hour pilot – barely – and 10 minutes of the second episode before I deleted the season pass on my DVR. What a huge disappointment for me. I was BORED with the family drama/ungrateful and obnoxious teenage son baloney, and found the entire premise to be completely bereft of any sense of wonder. Blech.

Let’s end this post on a positive note, shall we? If you have not seen Showtime’s new thriller Homeland yet, well, please find a way, even if you don’t have Showtime. Homeland stars Claire Danes, Damian Lewis, Mandy Patinkin and Morena Baccarin and, accordingly, the acting is stellar. Danes plays an emotionally unstable/unhinged CIA operative who suspects that an Iraq War POW (Lewis), returning home after 8 years of captivity, has been turned and is now a sleeper agent/terrorist. It is the best-reviewed new show out there right now, and trust me, it really is that good.

Also, look for some Fringe recaps within the next day or so…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

